Bevölkerungsökonomie
print

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


Content

Research

The question regarding the determinants of long-term economic development has always been a central theme within economic research. What leads to the rapid changes in economic development as pertaining to the industrial revolution, or which determinants are responsible for the fact that many countries have never experienced an equivalent development boost?

The research activities of the Chair for Population Economics concentrate on the interaction between the population structure and economic development.

The focus is on research examining the role of the living environment, as well as that of the demographic structure for the long-term dynamics of development processes. Particular emphasis is placed on the changes in life-expectancy, fertility and educational behavior.

Institutions are undoubtedly another central determinant of long-run development. However, how institutions are created, which changes they go through, why they continue to exist even when they constrict the economic development, are all fundamental questions. A further core-area within our research centers on these questions and examines the roles of inequality, cultural factors and preferences within this context.

Preferences and attitudes in diverse contexts also play a key role in economic behavior and ultimately in economic development. The distribution of such attitudes amongst the population is therefore the central theme of a further research area.  How for example, can risk-tolerance, patience or trust be measured? How are these preferences distributed in the population, and how are preferences formed, through which factors are they influenced and which economic relevance do they possess? Further research projects deal with subjects deriving from the areas Labor Economics, Personnel Economics and Education Economics.

The chair’s teaching covers compulsory lectures in Macroeconomics and offers diverse lectures and seminars on themes such as Long-Run Growth, Labor Economics and Personnel Economics.

- Forschung - Bevölkerungsökonomie - LMU München
Bevölkerungsökonomie
print

Sprachumschaltung

Navigationspfad


Inhaltsbereich

Forschung

Die Frage nach den Determinanten langfristiger Wirtschaftsentwicklung steht seit jeher im Mittelpunkt der volkswirtschaftlichen Forschung. Wie kam es etwa zu den rasanten Veränderungen in der Wirtschaftsentwicklung im Zusammenhang mit der industriellen Revolution, oder aus welchen Gründen haben viele Länder bis heute keinen derartigen Entwicklungsschub erfahren?

Die Forschungsaktivitäten des Seminars für Bevölkerungsökonomik befassen sich mit den Wechselwirkungen zwischen der Bevölkerungsstruktur und der Wirtschaftsentwicklung.

Ein Forschungsschwerpunkt beschäftigt sich mit der Rolle des Lebensumfelds und der demographischen Struktur für die langfristige Dynamik des Entwicklungsprozesses. Im Mittelpunkt stehen dabei Veränderungen in der Lebenserwartung sowie im Fertilitäts- und Ausbildungsverhalten.

Zweifellos sind auch Institutionen eine zentrale Entwicklungsdeterminante. Aber wie entstehen und verändern sich Institutionen, und warum bleiben Institutionen bestehen, selbst wenn sie die Wirtschaftsentwicklung behindern? Ein zweiter Forschungsschwerpunkt befasst sich mit diesen Fragen und untersucht die Rolle von Ungleichheit, kulturellen Faktoren und Präferenzen in diesem Kontext.

Präferenzen und Einstellungen spielen auch in anderen Zusammenhängen eine wichtige Rolle für wirtschaftliches Handeln und letztlich für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung. Die Verteilung von solchen Einstellungen in der Bevölkerung steht daher im Mittelpunkt eines weiteren Forschungsschwerpunkts. Wie misst man beispielsweise Risikotoleranz, Geduld oder Vertrauen? Woher kommen Präferenzen, wovon werden sie beeinflusst, und welche wirtschaftliche Relevanz haben sie? Weitere Forschungsprojekte befassen sich mit Themen aus den Bereichen Arbeitsmärkte, Personalökonomik und Bildungsökonomik.

In der Lehre deckt der Lehrstuhl Pflichtveranstaltungen in der Makroökonomik ab und bietet verschiedene Veranstaltungen zu Themen wie Wachstumsökonomik, Arbeitsmarktforschung, und Personalökonomik an.